Mayor presents Community Endeavour Awards

Mayor of South Dublin County Sarah Holland has presented 14 Community Endeavour Awards to acknowledge, promote and recognise the work of community and voluntary organisations within the administrative area of South Dublin County Council.

140 entries were received from a wide variety of groups operating in South Dublin County and an independent judging panel assessed each entry. The Awards were held at the Red Cow Moran’s Hotel on Friday 11th December by Mayor of South Dublin, Councillor Sarah Holland.

 PK Boccia Club

Mayor Holland commented on the awards:

“Tonight is about recognising your endeavour and rewarding it but it is also a night where, as a Council, we give thanks to you for your work over the past twelve months.”

Awards were made under the following headings:

  • Knocklyon Network – Civic Pride and Community Endeavour
  • Rathcoole Community Centre – Multi-Purpose Community Facility of the Year
  • Dominic’s Community Centre – Neighbourhood Community Facility of the Year
  • Killinarden Angling Club – Sport and Recreation
  • Fettercairn Horse Project – Social Inclusion Award
  • RAMS Newcastle – Active Age Award
  • Na Gael Óga GLC – Gradam na Gaeilge
  • Dodder Action – Community Sustainability Initiative
  • Dublin Bus – Corporate Endeavour Award
  • Chloe Callaghan (nominated by Balgaddy Working Together Group – Young Achiever
  • Christy McDonnell (nominated by Rathcoole Community Centre) – Lifetime Achievement
  • PK Boccia Club – Special Recognition Award
  • Ballyboden St. Enda’s GAA Club – Special Endeavour Award
  • Dominic’s Community Centre – Overall Community Endeavour Award

About Genna Patterson

Genna Patterson
Genna was the editor at InTallaght magazine and loves a positive news story, cat videos and a hyped-up blockbuster movie.

Check Also

People living in poverty not feeling any recovery

Dublin South West TD, Seán Crowe, has said a recent report from the Central Statistics …