Tallaght Community Council were delighted Old Bawn native, and newly crowned Tallaght Person of the Year, Sinead Tighe was on hand on Saturday to present Andy Ahern with the much coveted Tallaght heritage map.
Andy, who grew up in the well known hostelry, some will know as The Shamrock bar, now known as Ahernes was delighted to accept the map. He will give it pride of place in the pub.
Ahernes is located on what was the entrance road to the ornate Old Bawn House which is shown on the map – sadly demolished in the 1970s.
Old Bawn house, which was built in 1635 by Archdeacon William Bulkeley, was of a late Tudor style and had many windows and twelve chimneys which was unusual at that time.
It also had interesting internal features such as a chimney piece and a carved oak staircase both of which are now in the National Museum.
Tallaght Community Council is committed to increasing the awareness of Tallaght’s rich heritage and the maps are just one way of doing this.