Ireland Women’s squad named ahead of next week’s vital Tallaght qualifier

Republic of Ireland Women’s Manager Sue Ronan has named a squad of 22 for their Euro 2017 qualifier against Spain in Tallaght Stadium next Thursday November 26th (KO 2pm).

The big news is that the Ireland women’s under-19 captain Savannah McCarthy has been included in the squad for the vital qualifier. Ciara Rossiter has also earned a recall after missing out recently. The squad will be reduced to 18 prior to the match.

Both players may be potential replacements for Florida State’s Megan Campbell and Megan Connolly, who are unavailable due to college commitments.

After losing their opening qualifier at home to Finland in September the Girls in Green showed great spirit to bounce back with an excellent away victory against Portugal last month to get their Euro 2017 qualification challenge up and running. Manager Ronan hopes her squad put on a repeat performance against top seeds Spain who went to Finland last month and won.

“We have a great opportunity to put ourselves right in the mix for first place in the group by winning this game and we will be looking to take all three points,” said Ronan.

“I have been impressed by the form shown by Ciara Rossiter and Savannah McCarthy and had no hesitation including them in the squad”

“We played well against Finland but didn’t take any chances we created so I was delighted that we got two goals in Portugal.

“We played Spain last April in a friendly before they went to the World Cup and while we lost 1-0 we did play well and should have got a draw, but the referee disallowed a perfectly good goal by Louise Quinn near the end.

“It is unfortunate that academic commitments mean both Megan Campbell and Megan Connolly are unavailable but I have been impressed by the form shown in recent weeks by Ciara Rossiter and Savannah McCarthy and had no hesitation including them in the squad.

“It will be a good experience for Savannah, who is still with the U19 squad and an opportunity for her to see at first hand what is required at senior international level.”

Republic of Ireland Squad.

Goalkeepers: Emma Byrne (Arsenal), Grace Moloney (Reading), Niamh Reid Burke (Shelbourne).

Defenders: Meabh De Burca (Galway), Niamh Fahey (Chelsea), Savannah McCarthy (Galway), Sophie Perry (Brighton & Hove Albion), Louise Quinn (Eskilstuna United), Ciara Rossiter (Wexford Youths),

Midfielders: Diane Caldwell (Avaldsnes), Karen Duggan (UCD Waves), Ruesha Littlejohn (Celtic), Grace Murray (Shelbourne), Denise O’Sullivan (Glasgow City),

Forwards: Carol Breen (Wexford Youths), Siobhan Killeen (Shelbourne), Katie McCabe (Shelbourne), Julie Ann Russell (UCD Waves), Aine O’Gorman (UCD Waves), Claire O’Riordan (Wexford Youths), Stephanie Roche (Sunderland), Clare Shine (Glasgow City).

About Padraig Conlon

Padraig Conlon
More on Padraig coming soon.

Check Also

Ally Gilchrist Signs For Rovers

Shamrock Rovers today confirmed the signing of central defender Ally Gilchrist from St Johnstone in …